Thankful Moments

Hey Everyone!  November has quickly come and gone (don’t they all). I have been seeing all month long on Facebook with everyone participating in the Attitude of Gratitude.  What this consists of is everyday you say something you are thankful for.  It has been great reading all the things that people are thankful for.  It sometimes is the simplest of things.  So many people these days take the littlest things for granted (I do, too).

I will never forget the time when Brent and I weren’t married yet and we lived outside of town a few miles.  This is when they were re-doing N28.  Not that it was THAT big of a deal, but when they got close to where we lived, we had to drive around the acreage and through the field to the gravel road to get to town.  Like I said, not THAT big a deal, but it was a nuisance.  It made me think, wow….I take for granted just being able to drive right out the driveway and hop on the highway.  Right?  Seems absurd, but if you really think about it, there is WAY to many people who take the simplest of things for granted.

If I had to pick my top thing I am thankful for…it would no doubt in my mind be my mom.  Most of you that know me, I wouldn’t have to even explain all that she does for me.  Let me just give you a little background info on what my mom has/does for me.

Back in the day, she was a single mother for quite some time trying to work her behind off to raise my sister and I.  What did I learn from that?  Hard work pays off.  SHE. BUSTED. HER. BEHIND. FOR. YEARS.  She provided us with all the things we needed. (let me emphasis needed….now-a-days the things we seem to need is different from twenty years ago.)

Let’s fast forward about 18 years (I can remember that better than all those years ago!).  When I had my first child, Dawson, my mom started to work part-time to help me out and babysit.  Then not too long after, she quit working at the Dr. Office and started babysitting for me full-time.  WOW!  BINGO!  See, I’m lucky.  Guess what, Tuesdays are usually the one night I don’t let myself work late so we always plan 6:00 pm supper….guess where….AT MY MOMS!!!  Lucky.  If she is watching my boys over the weekend when we are gone…..Brent and I will come home and the house will be clean and the laundry done.  Blessed.  She picks up Dawson and brings him to Sunday School and then heads to my salon and cleans.  Yep, she is the Cleaning Lady for Cuts to Dye For.  I just ran out of time to do it myself so I’m lucky enough to have my mom do it.  Don’t worry…I pay her for that!  :+)  O yeah, and this past Sunday she brought Casey’s subs home for lunch when she brought Dawson back from Sunday School.  Ok. Ok. Enough, you get it.  I’m lucky.  I’m blessed.  I’m so dang proud to have the best mom EVER.

I am thankful for LOTS of other things, don’t get me wrong, but it all started because of my mom.  She did create me after all!  :+)

My point of this whole thing is to be thankful.  In every way possible.  We live such fast paced lives anymore, it seems to all run into a big blur.  Especially this time of year, take a moment out of your day to say thanks, to appreciate all that you have.  You never know how you will make someones day by maybe even just saying hi or smiling.

I was in Deb’s Country Kettle the other day getting lunch and have kind-of a standing joke with a good friend that is a regular there also.  We are always joking who is going to buy…..well lets just say I snuck one in on him and bought his lunch without him knowing.  It’s about the simple things people.  Make a difference.  Give back.  Live life to the fullest.  Appreciate who YOU are and what you have.

I want to finish this off with a good story I just read on Facebook.  It just goes to show that we should be grateful for ourselves, no matter what life has thrown at you.

Good story-> A well-known speaker started off his seminar holding up a $20.00 bill. In the room of 200, he asked, “Who would like this $20 bill?” Hands started going up. He said, “I am going to give this $20 to one of you but first, let me do this.” He proceeded to crumple up the $20 dollar bill. He then asked, “Who still wants it…?” Still the hands were up in the air. “Well,” he replied, “What if I do this?” And he dropped it on the ground and started to grind it into the floor with his shoe. He picked it up, now crumpled and dirty. “Now, who still wants it?” Still the hands went into the air. “My friends, we have all learned a very valuable lesson. No matter what I did to the money, you still wanted it because it did not decrease in value. It was still worth $20. Many times in our lives, we are dropped, crumpled, and ground into the dirt by the decisions we make and the circumstances that come our way. We may feel as though we are worthless. But no matter what has happened or what will happen, you will never lose your value. Dirty or clean, crumpled or finely creased, you are still priceless to those who DO LOVE you. The worth of our lives comes not in what we do or who we know, but by WHO WE ARE. You are special-Don’t EVER forget it.” If you do not pass this on, you may never know the lives it touches, the hurting hearts it speaks to, or the hope that it may bring. Count your blessings, not your problems.

“Be thankful for what you have;  you’ll end up having more.  If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough”  Oprah Winfrey

Thankful for my beautiful family
Erica
Leave a Reply

